Agriculture & Rural Resilience Summit |
Your shopping cart is empty.


Agriculture & Rural Resilience Summit

Summit Spotlight Image. Dark and light blue triangle overlays with words Agriculture and Rural Resilience Summit
October 21, 2023 - 7:45am to 3:30pm
W.R. Davies Student Center • • Eau Claire
Driving Collaboration and Inclusion for a Sustainable Future
Saturday, October 21, 2023 - 7:45am to 3:30pm


W.R. Davies Student Center
77 Roosevelt Ave.
54701 Eau Claire , WI

Welcome to the Agriculture & Rural Resilience Summit, taking place on October 21, 2023, in Eau Claire, WI. This one-day event is a transformative platform for stakeholders to address pressing climate challenges. Drawing from the success of Climate Fast Forward 2022, attendees will engage with inspiring speakers, participate in facilitated sessions, and utilize unstructured networking time to forge valuable connections.

This Summit seeks to bring people together from: 

  • Organizations working with farmers and rural communities on natural climate solutions issues in rural areas
  • Farmers advancing climate smart agricultural solutions
  • Rural coalitions that have been left out of the climate change resiliency conversation
  • Tribal Nations staff and members working on climate change mitigation and impacts within Tribal communities
  • Businesses, universities, colleges, and other organizations working on creating job opportunities in rural communities in Wisconsin
  • Government leaders looking to connect with rural communities


Summit Agenda

As space is limited, we encourage you to secure your spot by registering today. Don't miss this opportunity to be part of a collaborative movement towards climate-smart agricultural solutions and resilient rural communities. Registration will close on October 6th.

Register Today!

Highlights Include:

  • Evening Social on October 20 
  • Breakfast and networking sessions
  • Keynote speaker to inspire and ignite discussions
  • Facilitated sessions to accelerate progress on climate actions
  • Panel on rural resilience and funding opportunities 



Lizzie is the Director of Science and Climate Programs at the Wisconsin Academy of Sciences, Arts, & Letters. Lizzie grew up in the Chicago suburbs and received her degree in biology from University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign. She then completed her master’s degree at University of Minnesota.

Tara Daun is the Wisconsin Farmers Union Watershed Coordinator and works with four farmer-led watershed councils in Dunn, Pierce, Polk, and St. Croix counties. Tara works primarily with large-scale grain and livestock farmers who are trying to improve the economic and environmental sustainability of their farms.

Jessica James is the Climate & Energy Program Manager for Wisconsin Academy. She joined the Academy in the fall of 2020 after graduating from the University of Minnesota-Twin Cities with a BS in Environmental Sciences.

Cory serves as the Executive Director for SolarShare WI Cooperative, where he manages the day to day operations of the cooperative and is the point of contact for members, the board and the general public.

Steve Vavrus is a Senior Scientist in the Nelson Institute Center for Climatic Research at UW-Madison and is the Wisconsin State Climatologist. He is an expert on Wisconsin climatology, extreme weather, global climate change, and Arctic climate.

Contact Us

Follow Us

Wisconsin Academy Offices 
1922 University Avenue
Madison, Wisconsin 53726
Phone: 608.733.6633


James Watrous Gallery 
3rd Floor, Overture Center for the Arts
201 State Street
Madison, WI 53703
Phone: 608.733.6633 x25